The Black Cat
©2001 Richard Sala



Sherlock Holmes ©2002 Richard Sala

 

RICHARD SALA

Richard Sala grew up with a fascination for musty old museums, dusty old libraries, cluttered antique shops, narrow alleyways, hidden truths, double meanings, and late night walks, making him the perfect choice as an illustrator for Graphic Classics: Edgar Allan Poe. His illustrations appear in the first and second editions of that volume. Sala is the artist and author of several collections, Hypnotic Tales, Black Cat Crossing and Thirteen O’Clock, plus an homage to Edward Gorey called The Ghastly Ones. In 1997 he published a graphic novel, The Chuckling Whatsit (Fantagraphics)—an epic 200-page thriller. His work has appeared in RAW, Esquire, Playboy, Nickelodeon Magazine, and The New York Times. Richard also created Invisible Hands, which ran on MTV’s animation show, Liquid Television.

A master of gothic humor in the tradition of Charles Addams and Edward Gorey, Sala’s stories contain mystery, adventure, femmes fatales and homicidal maniacs, though he confesses he “always had a soft spot for Holmes.” His painting of the great detective graced the cover of the first edition of Graphic Classics: Arthur Conan Doyle, and he contributed an illustration to the first edition of Graphic Classics: Bram Stoker. Richard’s critically-acclaimed comic series Evil Eye features amateur detectives Judy Drood and Kasper Keene in the mystery serial Reflection in a Glass Scorpion. Visit his website at www.richardsala.com for lots of wonderfully creepy things to look at.