Lord Dunsany, born Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, wrote more than seventy books, beginning with The Gods of Pergana in 1905. He was one of the most popular fantasy authors in the English language and also a poet, a successful playwright, and a competitive chess player. After the Fire, illustrated by Rachel Masilamani in Fantasy Classics, first appeared in his 1915 collection Fifty-One Tales. A Narrow Escape is adapted in Graphic Classics: Special Edition. The Bureau d’Echange de Maux, adapted in Science Fiction Classics, first appeared in his 1916 collection Tales of Wonder. Dunsany died in Dublin in 1957. H.P. Lovecraft was a great admirer of his stories, and wrote of Dunsany: “To the truly imaginative he is a talisman and a key unlocking rich storehouses of dream.”

Fantasy Classics:
Graphic Classics Volume 15

144 pages, b&w, $10


Science Fiction Classics:
Graphic Classics Volume 17

144 pages, color, $15


from Graphic Classics: Special Edition, illustration ©2008 Milton Knight